Firstly

I’m going to ignore the fact that this is my first post, except in title and first sentence.

Finals are over and I can now take a deep breath and relax. But relaxation itself has become a renewal of creativity, a burst of energy, an itch to produce. This past semester I’ve only had time to study and wear away at work. I’ve had four days off and I’ve spent it craftily! On Monday was finals, spent in classrooms and in libraries. Tuesday I began and finished a yoga bag. Wednesday and Thursday morning I also spent making another yoga bag for Joe’s mother’s bag. Thursday afternoon was a day of sanding down an old chair I fell in love with last year. And today, between laundry and before work, I think I will continue the long process of quilt patches.

Yoga Bags

It’s more of a distraction than anything else, I’m keeping myself busy on purpose. Joe left on Sunday morning before dawn. Work training that mandates atleast 3 weeks away from home. Last time I heard from him he had stopped in Chicago with his not-so-friendly trucking trainer at his side. I miss him.

So with distraction as the name of the game I think I am going to come up with some more projects to busy my hands and calm my thoughts.

1.I would like to bake…something. Not sure what. Cupcakes? Muffins? And I would like to make blueberry jam.

2.Finish sanding, paint, and reupholster the thrifted chair I’ve begun. Upcycling is what it’s called I believe.

3. Quilt. FInish the damn thing I keep changing. I’ve never quilted before, self-taught, and stubborn.

4. Maybe taking a quilting class to make the whole process easier.

5. I’ve got a lamp kit and I’m fixin’ to give some light to my sewing table.

6. Pillows.

I think that should keep me busy for awhile.

Leave a Reply

